| Business Payments |
Barclaycard offers customised pricing for card machine fees, with a £0 monthly service fee for 12 months, then £18 plus VAT. Hardware costs £29 plus VAT one-off. Contracts run 18 months, with next-day settlement. Rates are not published; quotes are tailored.
Barclaycard provides tailored card machine pricing with a 12-month fee waiver, then £18+VAT monthly, a £29+VAT hardware fee, and an 18-month contract, with next-day settlement.
KEY FACTS
|
LAST REVIEWED 2026-09-06
Fees
Barclaycard does not publish a standard tariff for card machine fees. Instead, pricing is customised to each business, based on factors such as transaction volumes, average ticket size and industry type. The provider's website indicates that there is no monthly service fee for the first 12 months of a new contract. After that period, a monthly service fee of £18 plus VAT applies. This fee covers account maintenance and access to the Barclaycard portal.
Transaction fees are not disclosed in the public domain. They are typically quoted as a percentage of each transaction plus a fixed pence element, but the exact figures depend on the bespoke quote. Barclaycard also charges a one-off hardware fee of £29 plus VAT for a card reader, which is lower than many competitors that charge upwards of £100 for similar devices.
It is important to note that the headline rate is not published, so businesses must request a quote to see the applicable rates. The absence of published rates means that comparing Barclaycard with other acquirers requires a direct sales conversation. The figures presented here were fetched from the Barclaycard website on 5 September 2026.
Hardware
Barclaycard offers a range of card machines, including countertop terminals, portable devices and mobile card readers that connect to a smartphone or tablet. The cost for a standard card reader is £29 plus VAT as a one-off fee. This is a competitive price point, particularly for small businesses that need to keep upfront costs low.
For more advanced terminals, such as those with additional features like contactless payments, receipts and inventory management, the hardware cost may be higher. However, Barclaycard does not publish a full price list for all devices. Businesses should confirm the exact model and associated costs during the sales process.
Barclaycard also provides technical support and warranty for its hardware. The warranty period is not published, but typical industry practice is 12 months. If a device malfunctions, Barclaycard will repair or replace it, subject to the terms of the agreement. It is advisable to clarify the warranty terms before signing a contract.
Hardware is supplied on a sale basis, meaning the business owns the device outright after paying the one-off fee. This contrasts with some providers that lease terminals, which can result in higher long-term costs. The £29 fee is a one-off, with no recurring rental charges.
Settlement
Barclaycard offers next-day settlement as standard for most transactions. This means that funds from card payments are transferred to the business's nominated bank account on the next working day after the transaction is processed. This is a significant advantage for cash flow, as some acquirers take two or three days to settle.
Next-day settlement applies to transactions that are batched and submitted before the daily cut-off time, which is typically around 9 PM. Transactions after this time may be processed on the following day, resulting in settlement two days later. Barclaycard does not publish the exact cut-off time, so businesses should confirm this with their account manager.
There are no additional fees for next-day settlement; it is included in the standard pricing. However, if a business opts for faster settlement, such as same-day, this may incur an extra charge, but Barclaycard does not currently offer same-day settlement as a standard feature.
It is important to note that settlement times can be affected by bank holidays and weekends. Funds are typically received on the next working day, not on weekends. Businesses should plan their cash flow accordingly, especially during peak periods.
Contract terms
Barclaycard card machine contracts have an initial term of 18 months. This is a relatively short commitment compared to some providers that require 24 or 36-month contracts. The 18-month term aligns with the Payment Systems Regulator's (PSR) Specific Direction, which caps initial terminal rental contracts at 18 months, in force since July 2023.
During the initial term, the monthly service fee is waived for the first 12 months, as noted. After the initial 18 months, the contract may roll over on a monthly basis unless terminated. Barclaycard does not publish the notice period required for termination, but it is typically 30 days.
Exit fees may apply if a business terminates the contract early. Barclaycard does not publish the amount of exit fees, but they are likely to be calculated based on the remaining months of the term. It is essential to review the contract terms carefully before signing.
The PSR's remedies, introduced in July 2023, require acquirers to provide summary boxes and trigger messages to remind businesses of their contract end dates. Barclaycard complies with these regulations, ensuring that businesses are aware of when their initial term ends and what options are available.
Regulatory status
Barclaycard is a trading name of Barclays Bank PLC, which is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) and the PRA. Its FCA register number is not published in the provided sources, but it can be verified on the FCA website.
As a card acquirer, Barclaycard is subject to the Interchange Fee Regulation (IFR), which caps consumer debit card interchange fees at 0.2% and consumer credit card interchange fees at 0.3%. These caps apply to all acquirers in the UK and EEA, and they influence the rates that Barclaycard can offer to merchants.
In addition, the Payment Systems Regulator (PSR) has implemented remedies to improve competition in the card acquiring market. These include requirements for summary boxes, trigger messages and online quotation tools, which came into force in July 2023. Barclaycard must comply with these rules, providing clear information to businesses about fees and contract terms.
Barclaycard is also a member of the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS), which means that unresolved complaints can be referred to the FOS. The FOS has the power to award compensation up to a limit that is not published in the provided sources; businesses should check the current limit on the FOS website.
Who it suits
Barclaycard's card machine services are well-suited to small and medium-sized businesses that want a reputable provider with a strong high street presence. The low upfront hardware cost of £29 plus VAT makes it accessible for startups and sole traders who need to keep initial expenses down.
The 18-month contract term is shorter than many competitors, offering flexibility for businesses that may want to switch providers or renegotiate terms in the near future. The first 12 months with no monthly service fee is an attractive incentive, effectively reducing the cost of acceptance during the first year.
Next-day settlement is beneficial for businesses with tight cash flow, such as retailers and hospitality venues that need quick access to funds. The customised pricing model means that businesses with higher transaction volumes may negotiate lower rates, making Barclaycard a viable option for growing enterprises.
However, because rates are not published, businesses that prefer transparent, fixed pricing may find it frustrating to have to go through a sales process to obtain a quote. Barclaycard is best suited to those who value brand reliability and are willing to engage in a consultation to tailor a package.
Related Guides |
Disclaimer. This guide is editorial information drawn from primary sources. It is not financial, legal or tax advice and does not recommend any provider. Figures are those published by the named sources on the review date and may change. Kael Tripton Ltd receives no commission, referral fee or lead payment from any provider named on this page. |
Frequently asked questions
Does Barclaycard publish rates?
No, Barclaycard does not publish its card machine fees or transaction rates. Pricing is customised based on the business's specific circumstances, such as transaction volumes and industry. To find out the applicable rates, a business must request a quote from Barclaycard. The only published figures are the monthly service fee (£0 for 12 months, then £18 + VAT) and the hardware fee (£29 + VAT).
Contract length?
Barclaycard card machine contracts have an initial term of 18 months. This is in line with the Payment Systems Regulator's cap on terminal rental contracts, which limits initial terms to 18 months. After the initial term, the contract typically rolls over on a monthly basis. Early termination may incur exit fees, the amount of which is not published.
Next-day settlement?
Yes, Barclaycard offers next-day settlement as standard. Funds from card transactions are transferred to the business's bank account on the next working day after the transaction is processed, provided the transaction is batched before the daily cut-off time. This is a key benefit for cash flow, as many other providers take longer to settle.
Do I need a Barclays account?
No, you do not need a Barclays current account to use Barclaycard card machine services. Barclaycard can settle funds to any UK bank account. However, having a Barclays account may simplify the process and could potentially offer integrated banking and payment solutions, but it is not a requirement.
Exit fees?
Barclaycard does not publish the amount of exit fees that may apply if you terminate your contract early. Typically, exit fees are calculated based on the remaining months of the initial term, but the exact formula is not disclosed. It is advisable to review your contract terms or ask your account manager for details before signing.
Sources |