| Business Payments |
Tide charges £2.99 + VAT monthly for its card reader service, with hardware from £11 + VAT. In-person transaction rates are not published. Payouts arrive the next business day. A Tide business account is required. The figures above are as published by the named sources on the review date and are checked against the tables in this guide.
KEY FACTS
|
LAST REVIEWED 2026-09-06
What are the Tide card reader fees in 2026?
Tide charges a monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT for its card reader service. Hardware costs from £11 + VAT. In-person transaction rates are not published on Tide's pricing page as of 2026-09-06.
The monthly fee covers the card reader service, but Tide does not disclose a per-transaction percentage. This means businesses cannot easily compare Tide's total cost per sale with providers that publish rates, such as SumUp at 1.69% or Zettle at 1.75%.
To estimate the true cost, a business must consider the monthly fee plus any hardware costs. Since the rate is not published, the actual cost could be higher or lower than competitors.
Check Tide's latest pricing page for any updates, as fees can change. Also confirm whether the monthly fee is per reader or per account, and whether VAT is included in quoted figures.
How much does the Tide card reader hardware cost?
Tide card reader hardware starts from £11 + VAT. This is a one-off cost for the physical device. The exact model and features depend on what Tide offers at the time of purchase.
Compared with other providers in the table above, Zettle charges from £29 excl. VAT for its reader, while Barclaycard charges £29 + VAT one-off. Tide's starting price of £11 + VAT is lower than both, but the total cost of ownership includes the monthly fee.
For a business that keeps the reader for 12 months, the total cost would be £2.99 + VAT times 12 plus the hardware. In contrast, a Zettle user might pay £29 upfront with no monthly fee, but a higher transaction rate of 1.75%.
Check whether the £11 + VAT reader is a basic model and if additional features, such as contactless or Bluetooth, are included. Also verify if there are delivery charges or optional accessories that increase the upfront cost.
| Provider | Published in-person rate | Monthly fee | Contract | Settlement | Hardware | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tide | not published | £2.99 + VAT | not published | next business day | from £11 + VAT | source 2026-09-06 |
When does Tide pay out card reader transactions?
Tide settles card reader transactions on the next business day. This means funds from a sale made on a Monday would typically arrive in the Tide account by Tuesday, assuming no bank holidays.
In the table above, SumUp also offers next-day settlement, while Zettle settles within minutes to a PayPal Business account. Square does not publish its settlement time. Tide's next-business-day payout is standard but not instant.
For cash flow planning, a business should note that weekend sales may not be settled until Monday or Tuesday, depending on the processing cut-off times. Tide does not publish specific cut-off times, so it is advisable to contact support for exact schedules.
Check the Tide app or account dashboard for real-time transaction status. Also confirm whether there are any fees for faster payouts, as some providers charge for instant transfers. Tide's standard payout is next business day, which may be sufficient for most small businesses.
Do I need a Tide business account to use the card reader?
Yes, a Tide business account is required to use the Tide card reader. The reader is integrated with the Tide account, and payouts are made directly into that account.
Tide is a financial technology company, not a bank, but it offers business current accounts through partner banks. The card reader service is an add-on to the account, and the monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT is typically deducted from the account balance.
Businesses that do not already have a Tide account must open one before purchasing the reader. Opening an account is usually free, but Tide may have eligibility criteria, such as being a registered business in the UK.
Check whether the monthly fee is waived for certain account tiers or if there are any minimum balance requirements. Also verify that the card reader is compatible with the type of Tide account you hold, as some features may be limited to specific plans.
Is Tide regulated as a bank or payment institution?
Tide is not a bank; it is an authorised payment institution regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the UK. Its current accounts are provided by partner banks, such as ClearBank, which are FCA-regulated.
This regulatory status means that Tide must comply with payment services regulations, but customer funds are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) in the same way as bank deposits. Instead, funds are safeguarded in segregated accounts.
For card reader services, Tide operates under its payment institution licence. This allows it to provide payment processing, but it does not offer the same level of protection as a full banking licence. Businesses should be aware of this distinction when choosing a provider.
Check Tide's website for its FCA registration number and details of its safeguarding arrangements. Also consider whether the lack of FSCS protection is a concern for your business's cash holdings.
Who is the Tide card reader best suited for?
The Tide card reader is best suited for businesses that already use a Tide business account and want an integrated payment solution. It is particularly useful for freelancers, contractors, and small businesses that value simple accounting and real-time cash flow visibility.
Compared with other providers in the table above, Tide's monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT may be a barrier for very low-volume sellers.
However, for businesses that process higher volumes, the fixed monthly fee could be more cost-effective if Tide's transaction rate is competitive. Since Tide does not publish its rate, it is difficult to make a direct comparison.
Businesses that need instant settlement or have no existing Tide account may find other providers more suitable. It is essential to compare total costs, including hardware, monthly fees, and transaction rates, based on your specific sales volume.
| Provider | Published in-person rate | Monthly fee | Contract | Settlement | Hardware | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SumUp | 1.69% | £0 | no contract | next day | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Zettle | 1.75% | £0 | no contract | within minutes to PayPal Business account | from £29 excl. VAT | source 2026-09-06 |
| Square | 1.75% | £0 | no contract | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Tide | not published | £2.99 + VAT | not published | next business day | from £11 + VAT | source 2026-09-06 |
| takepayments | not published | not published | 12 months | next working day | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Barclaycard | customised, not published | £0 for 12 months, then £18 + VAT | 18 months | next day | £29 + VAT one-off | source 2026-09-06 |
| Worldpay | not published | £20.00 per terminal | not published | 24 hours | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Dojo | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Teya | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Elavon | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
How does Tide's pricing compare with other providers in the table?
In the table above, Tide's monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT is unique among the listed providers. SumUp, Zettle, and Square charge £0 monthly, while Barclaycard offers £0 for the first 12 months, then £18 + VAT. Worldpay charges £20.00 per terminal.
Tide's hardware cost from £11 + VAT is lower than Zettle's £29 excl. VAT and Barclaycard's £29 + VAT. However, the ongoing monthly fee adds up over time.
Transaction rates are not published for Tide, so a direct comparison is impossible. SumUp charges 1.69%, Zettle and Square charge 1.75%. If Tide's rate is higher than these, the monthly fee could make it more expensive for low-volume businesses.
Businesses should calculate their expected monthly card volume and compare the total cost of each provider, including any contract terms. Tide has no contract, similar to SumUp, Zettle, and Square, but Barclaycard requires an 18-month contract.
What are the contract terms for Tide card readers?
Tide does not publish contract terms for its card reader service. The table above shows 'not published' for Tide's contract column, indicating that there is no clear information on minimum terms or cancellation fees.
In contrast, SumUp, Zettle, and Square offer no contract, meaning you can cancel at any time. takepayments requires a 12-month contract, and Barclaycard requires an 18-month contract. Worldpay's terms are not published.
The absence of a published contract for Tide suggests that the service may be month-to-month, but this is not confirmed. Businesses should check Tide's terms and conditions before signing up to understand any notice periods or early termination fees.
If Tide does have a contract, it could affect the total cost of ownership. For example, if you cancel after 6 months, you might still owe the monthly fee for the remaining term. Always read the fine print and ask Tide directly for written confirmation of contract terms.
Are there any hidden fees with Tide card readers?
Tide does not publish a full fee schedule for its card reader service. The only published fees are the monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT and hardware from £11 + VAT. There may be additional charges for chargebacks, refunds, or international cards, but these are not disclosed.
In the table above, other providers also have undisclosed fees. For example, SumUp and Zettle do not list chargeback fees, but they may apply.
To avoid surprises, businesses should request a full fee schedule from Tide before committing. Ask about fees for: chargebacks, refunds, monthly minimums, account inactivity, and card reader replacement. Also check if the monthly fee is inclusive of VAT or if VAT is added on top.
Compare these potential fees with those of other providers. For instance, Barclaycard charges £18 + VAT monthly after the first 12 months, but its transaction rates are customised. Understanding all potential costs is essential for accurate budgeting.
How do I set up a Tide card reader for the business?
To set up a Tide card reader, you first need a Tide business account. If you do not have one, you can apply through the Tide app or website. Once your account is active, you can order the card reader from the Tide dashboard or app.
The hardware costs from £11 + VAT, and delivery times are not published. After receiving the reader, you will need to pair it with your smartphone via Bluetooth and connect it to the Tide app. The app guides you through the setup process, including entering your business details and linking a bank account for payouts.
Before going live, test the reader with a small transaction to ensure it works correctly. Check that your phone's operating system is compatible and that you have a stable internet connection. Tide may also require you to verify your identity and business details as part of the onboarding process.
If you encounter issues, Tide offers customer support through its app and website. Keep your reader's firmware updated to ensure security and functionality. Also, familiarise yourself with the app's reporting features to track sales and fees.
Glossary: card payment terms explained
Monthly fee: A fixed charge paid every month for the card reader service, regardless of transaction volume. For Tide, this is £2.99 + VAT.
Hardware cost: The one-off price paid to purchase the physical card reader device. Tide's hardware starts from £11 + VAT.
Settlement: The time it takes for funds from card transactions to be deposited into your business account. Tide settles on the next business day.
Transaction rate: The percentage of each transaction amount charged by the provider. Tide does not publish its rate, unlike SumUp at 1.69%.
Contract: A minimum commitment period for the service. Tide does not publish contract terms, while some providers require 12 or 18 months.
VAT: Value Added Tax, a UK consumption tax. Fees quoted as 'plus VAT' mean the tax is added on top of the base price.
Checklist: what to check on a fee statement or contract
- Check the latest Tide pricing page for any changes to the £2.99 + VAT monthly fee.
- Confirm the total hardware cost, including delivery, as the from £11 + VAT price may not include all models.
- Ask Tide for a written statement of transaction rates, as they are not published.
- Verify the settlement schedule for weekends and bank holidays, as next business day may vary.
- Review the Tide account terms to ensure you meet eligibility for the card reader service.
- Compare total costs over 12 months with other providers using the table above.
Each item above maps to a line that must appear in the PSR summary box or the contract schedule, so a missing entry is itself a question for the provider.
Related Guides |
Disclaimer. This guide is editorial information drawn from primary sources. It is not financial, legal or tax advice and does not recommend any provider. Figures are those published by the named sources on the review date and may change. Kael Tripton Ltd receives no commission, referral fee or lead payment from any provider named on this page. |
Frequently asked questions
What is the Tide card reader fee?
Tide charges a monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT for its card reader service. This fee is separate from the hardware cost, which starts from £11 + VAT. The transaction rate for in-person payments is not published on Tide's pricing page. This means the total cost per transaction is not transparent. Businesses should contact Tide directly to obtain a full breakdown of fees, including any per-transaction charges, before signing up. The monthly fee is likely to be deducted from your Tide business account balance.
Do I need a Tide account to use the card reader?
Yes, a Tide business account is required to use the Tide card reader. The reader is designed to integrate with the Tide app and account, and payouts from card transactions are made directly into your Tide account. If you do not already have a Tide account, you will need to open one, which is typically free. The account application process involves verifying your business details. Once your account is active, you can order the card reader and start accepting payments. The monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT will be charged to your Tide account.
How long does Tide take to pay out card transactions?
Tide pays out card transactions on the next business day. This means if you make a sale on a Monday, the funds should appear in your Tide account by Tuesday, assuming no bank holidays. Transactions made on weekends or public holidays may be processed on the next working day. This settlement time is similar to SumUp's next-day payout but slower than Zettle, which settles within minutes to a PayPal Business account. For faster access to funds, you may need to consider other providers, but Tide's next-business-day payout is standard for many card processors.
Is Tide a bank?
No, Tide is not a bank. It is an authorised payment institution regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the UK. Tide provides business current accounts through partner banks, such as ClearBank, which are FCA-regulated. This means that funds held in Tide accounts are safeguarded in segregated accounts, but they are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) in the same way as bank deposits. For card reader services, Tide operates under its payment institution licence. Businesses should be aware of this distinction when considering where to hold their money.
Does Tide charge a monthly fee for the card reader?
Yes, Tide charges a monthly fee of £2.99 + VAT for its card reader service. This fee is published on Tide's pricing page as of 2026-09-06. The fee is in addition to the one-off hardware cost, which starts from £11 + VAT. Unlike some competitors that charge no monthly fee, such as SumUp and Zettle, Tide's monthly fee is a fixed cost that must be paid regardless of transaction volume. This makes Tide potentially more expensive for low-volume businesses, but it may be offset by other features or lower transaction rates, which are not published.
Sources |