| Business Payments |
takepayments does not publish its card machine fees for 2026. The provider offers a 12-month contract with next working day settlement. Hardware costs are not published. For published rates, see the table below. The figures above are as published by the named sources on the review date and are checked against the tables in this guide.
KEY FACTS
|
LAST REVIEWED 2026-09-06
What are takepayments card machine fees in 2026?
takepayments does not publish its card machine fees for 2026. The provider's pricing page lists no in-person rate, monthly fee, or hardware cost. Instead, takepayments offers bespoke quotes based on business needs.
In the table above, takepayments shows 'not published' for all fee categories. This means a business cannot compare takepayments directly with providers like SumUp, which charges 1.69% per transaction, or Zettle at 1.75%. The lack of published rates is common among traditional merchant acquirers, which tailor pricing to transaction volumes and average ticket sizes.
To obtain a fee schedule, a business must contact takepayments for a quote. The quote will typically include a per-transaction rate, a monthly service fee, and possibly a terminal rental or purchase cost. These figures are negotiable and depend on factors such as projected monthly turnover and card scheme mix.
Businesses should request a full breakdown of all charges, including any setup fees, PCI compliance costs, and early termination fees, before signing a contract. The table below compares takepayments with other providers that do publish rates, such as SumUp and Zettle.
What card machine hardware does takepayments offer?
takepayments does not publish its hardware options or costs for 2026. The provider's pricing page lists no terminal prices or rental fees. Hardware availability is confirmed only through a sales conversation.
In the table above, takepayments shows 'not published' for hardware. This contrasts with Zettle, which sells terminals from £29 excl. VAT, and Tide, which offers hardware from £11 + VAT. takepayments may provide terminals on a free loan or rental basis as part of a service contract, but this is not stated publicly.
Typical hardware types include countertop terminals for fixed tills, portable devices for table service, and smart terminals that accept contactless and mobile payments. The choice depends on the business environment. For a guide to terminal types, see Countertop, Portable and Smart Card Terminals: Fixed-Till Guide 2026.
Businesses should ask whether the quoted price includes the terminal, installation, and ongoing maintenance. Some providers charge a one-off fee, while others spread the cost over the contract term. Without published prices, direct comparison is difficult.
| Provider | Published in-person rate | Monthly fee | Contract | Settlement | Hardware | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| takepayments | not published | not published | 12 months | next working day | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
How does takepayments settlement work?
takepayments settles funds on the next working day after a transaction. This means a sale made on Monday is typically paid into the business bank account by Tuesday, assuming no bank holidays.
In the table above, takepayments shows 'next working day' for settlement. This is faster than some traditional acquirers, which may take two to three days, but slower than Zettle, which offers near-instant settlement to a PayPal Business account. SumUp also settles next day, so takepayments is in line with many modern providers.
Settlement timing affects cash flow. A business that relies on daily sales to cover expenses may prefer faster settlement. However, next working day settlement is generally acceptable for most small businesses. The exact time of day the funds arrive can vary by bank.
Businesses should confirm settlement terms in the contract, including any cut-off times for transactions. Some providers delay settlement if a transaction is flagged for fraud review. takepayments does not publish any such conditions, so it is wise to ask.
What are the contract terms for takepayments?
takepayments requires a 12-month contract for its card machine services. This is a fixed term, meaning the business is committed to the service for at least one year.
In the table above, takepayments shows '12 months' for contract length. This is shorter than Barclaycard's 18-month contract, but longer than SumUp and Zettle, which have no contract at all. A 12-month term is common among traditional providers, as it allows them to recoup the cost of subsidised hardware and setup.
After the initial term, the contract may roll over on a monthly basis, but takepayments does not publish this detail. Businesses should check whether there is an automatic renewal clause and what notice period is required to cancel. Early termination fees may apply if the contract is ended before the 12 months are up.
For a broader look at contract lengths and exit fees across providers, see Card Machine Contract Length and Exit Fees in 2026: 18-Month Cap. That guide explains how to compare terms and avoid unexpected charges.
Is takepayments regulated by the FCA?
takepayments is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under the Payment Services Regulations. This means it must meet certain standards for safeguarding customer funds and providing clear information.
FCA authorisation is not the same as being a bank. takepayments is a payment institution, not a deposit-taker. The FCA registration number can be checked on the FCA register. This regulatory status gives businesses a level of protection, but it does not guarantee that fees are competitive.
In the table above, takepayments does not list its FCA status, but it is a well-known provider in the UK. Businesses should verify the FCA number on the provider's website or by contacting them. The FCA register is public and searchable.
Regulation also affects how complaints are handled. If a business has a dispute with takepayments, it can escalate to the Financial Ombudsman Service, but only if the provider is covered. Most FCA-authorised payment firms are covered. This is an important consideration when choosing a provider.
Who is takepayments best suited for?
takepayments is suited for UK businesses that prefer a traditional merchant account with a dedicated account manager and are willing to commit to a 12-month contract. It is not ideal for startups or very small businesses that want low-cost, no-contract solutions.
In the table above, takepayments shows no published rates, which suggests it targets businesses that process enough volume to negotiate bespoke pricing.
takepayments may also suit businesses that need a physical terminal and prefer to rent rather than buy. However, since hardware costs are not published, this is speculative. The provider's next working day settlement is a plus for cash flow.
Businesses should compare takepayments with other providers in the table above. For a full comparison of 10 providers, see UK Card Machine Providers Compared 2026: 10 Providers With Published Rates. That guide includes providers with transparent pricing, which may be easier to budget for.
| Provider | Published in-person rate | Monthly fee | Contract | Settlement | Hardware | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SumUp | 1.69% | £0 | no contract | next day | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Zettle | 1.75% | £0 | no contract | within minutes to PayPal Business account | from £29 excl. VAT | source 2026-09-06 |
| Square | 1.75% | £0 | no contract | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Tide | not published | £2.99 + VAT | not published | next business day | from £11 + VAT | source 2026-09-06 |
| takepayments | not published | not published | 12 months | next working day | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Barclaycard | customised, not published | £0 for 12 months, then £18 + VAT | 18 months | next day | £29 + VAT one-off | source 2026-09-06 |
| Worldpay | not published | £20.00 per terminal | not published | 24 hours | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Dojo | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Teya | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
| Elavon | not published | not published | not published | not published | not published | source 2026-09-06 |
How does takepayments compare with SumUp and Zettle?
takepayments differs from SumUp and Zettle in that it does not publish its rates, while SumUp charges 1.69% and Zettle charges 1.75% per in-person transaction. Both SumUp and Zettle have no monthly fee and no contract.
In the table above, takepayments shows 'not published' for rate and monthly fee, whereas SumUp and Zettle show £0 monthly fee. This means a business can predict costs with SumUp or Zettle, but with takepayments, the cost is unknown until a quote is provided.
Without published figures, it is impossible to say.
Settlement is similar: takepayments and SumUp settle next working day, while Zettle settles within minutes to a PayPal account. Hardware costs are not published for takepayments, but Zettle sells terminals from £29. This comparison highlights the trade-off between transparent pricing and potentially lower bespoke rates.
What should a business check before signing with takepayments?
Before signing a 12-month contract with takepayments, a business should obtain a written quote that details all fees, including the per-transaction rate, monthly service charge, and any setup or hardware costs. The quote should also state the settlement schedule and any early termination fees.
In the table above, takepayments shows no published figures, so the quote is the only source of truth. Businesses should compare this quote with the published rates of other providers, such as SumUp's 1.69% or Zettle's 1.75%. If the takepayments quote is higher, the business may be paying a premium for the brand.
It is also wise to check the contract for automatic renewal clauses. Some providers extend the contract for another 12 months if the business does not give notice.
Finally, businesses should verify that the total cost of ownership, including hardware rental, does not exceed the cost of buying a terminal outright.
Are there any hidden fees with takepayments?
takepayments does not publish a full fee schedule, so hidden fees may exist. Common charges in the industry include PCI compliance fees, chargeback fees, and early termination fees. takepayments does not disclose these on its pricing page.
In the table above, takepayments shows no fees at all, but this is because they are not published. Providers like Barclaycard charge £18 + VAT monthly after a free period, and Worldpay charges £20.00 per terminal. takepayments may have similar charges, but they are not visible.
Businesses should ask for a complete list of all possible charges before signing. This includes asking about fees for paper statements, account closure, and refunds. The contract should specify whether any fees are variable or fixed.
If a business is concerned about hidden fees, it may prefer a provider with transparent pricing, such as SumUp or Zettle, which have no monthly fees and no contract. However, those providers may have higher transaction rates. The trade-off is between predictability and potential savings.
How to get a takepayments quote in 2026?
To get a takepayments quote in 2026, a business must contact the provider directly via its website or phone. The quote process typically involves a sales conversation to understand the business's card payment volumes and needs.
In the table above, takepayments shows no online quote tool, so a human interaction is required. During the call, the sales representative will likely ask about average transaction value, monthly turnover, and the type of terminal needed. Based on this, they will propose a rate and monthly fee.
Businesses should prepare by knowing their monthly card payment volume.
It is advisable to get quotes from multiple providers, including those with published rates, to have a benchmark. The table above provides a starting point. After receiving a quote, businesses should ask for it in writing and review the contract terms carefully before signing.
Glossary: card payment terms explained
Merchant account: A type of bank account that allows a business to accept card payments. Funds are held temporarily before being settled to the business's regular bank account.
Settlement: The process of transferring funds from a card transaction to the merchant's bank account. It typically takes one to two working days.
Interchange fee: A fee paid by the merchant's bank to the cardholder's bank for processing a transaction. It is a component of the overall transaction fee.
PCI DSS: Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard. A set of security requirements for businesses that handle cardholder data. Compliance is mandatory.
Rolling contract: A contract that continues on a month-to-month basis after the initial term, until either party gives notice to terminate.
Early termination fee: A charge imposed if a merchant ends a contract before the agreed term expires. The amount varies by provider and contract.
Checklist: what to check on a fee statement or contract
- Check if the quote includes a per-transaction rate and compare it with SumUp's 1.69%.
- Confirm the monthly fee, if any, and ask if it is waived for the first 12 months.
- Verify that the contract length is 12 months and ask about automatic renewal.
- Ask about settlement timing and whether it is next working day as stated.
- Request a full list of all fees, including PCI compliance and chargeback fees.
- Compare the total cost over 12 months with providers that have no contract, such as Zettle.
Each item above maps to a line that must appear in the PSR summary box or the contract schedule, so a missing entry is itself a question for the provider.
Related Guides |
Disclaimer. This guide is editorial information drawn from primary sources. It is not financial, legal or tax advice and does not recommend any provider. Figures are those published by the named sources on the review date and may change. Kael Tripton Ltd receives no commission, referral fee or lead payment from any provider named on this page. |
Frequently asked questions
Does takepayments publish its card machine fees?
No, takepayments does not publish its card machine fees for 2026. The pricing page lists no in-person rate, monthly fee, or hardware cost. Instead, the provider offers bespoke quotes based on the business's transaction volumes and needs. This is common among traditional merchant acquirers. To find out the cost, a business must contact takepayments directly and request a quote. The quote will include a per-transaction rate and possibly a monthly service fee. Without published rates, it is difficult to compare takepayments with transparent providers like SumUp, which charges 1.69% per transaction.
What is the contract length for takepayments?
takepayments requires a 12-month contract for its card machine services. This is a fixed term, meaning the business is committed for at least one year. After the initial term, the contract may roll over on a monthly basis, but this is not published. Businesses should check the contract for automatic renewal clauses and notice periods. Early termination fees may apply if the contract is ended before the 12 months are up. This is shorter than Barclaycard's 18-month contract but longer than SumUp and Zettle, which have no contract at all.
How long does takepayments take to settle funds?
takepayments settles funds on the next working day after a transaction. This means a sale made on Monday is typically paid into the business bank account by Tuesday, assuming no bank holidays. This is faster than some traditional acquirers, which may take two to three days, but slower than Zettle, which offers near-instant settlement to a PayPal Business account. SumUp also settles next day, so takepayments is in line with many modern providers. Settlement timing affects cash flow, so businesses should confirm the exact terms in their contract.
Is takepayments regulated by the FCA?
Yes, takepayments is authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under the Payment Services Regulations. This means it must meet standards for safeguarding customer funds and providing clear information. FCA authorisation is not the same as being a bank; takepayments is a payment institution. The FCA registration number can be checked on the FCA register. This regulatory status gives businesses a level of protection, but it does not guarantee that fees are competitive. If a business has a dispute, it may be able to escalate to the Financial Ombudsman Service.
Does takepayments charge exit fees?
takepayments does not publish whether it charges exit fees. However, many providers with fixed-term contracts impose an early termination fee if the contract is ended before the term expires. Since takepayments requires a 12-month contract, it is likely that an exit fee applies, but the amount is not disclosed. Businesses should ask for this information before signing. The contract should specify the exact fee, which may be calculated as a percentage of remaining monthly fees or a fixed amount. For comparison, some providers like SumUp have no contract and therefore no exit fees.
Sources |